City Government

Photo courtesy of Dakota AerialsCity Departments
     •    City Manager
     •    Finance
     •    Parks & Recreation
     •    Public Safety
     •    Public Services
     •    Utilities


Government Type
The City of Yankton is one of the few South Dakota cities to utilize a City Manager/Commission form of government. The Yankton City Commission consists of nine commissioners, elected at large for three-year terms. Each year three commissioners are up for re-election; elections are held in April. Annually, the Commission elects one of its members as the Mayor.


City Ordinances
The City of Yankton has several codes of ordinances in place.  Check out this link to get to the complete listing:

  • (800) 888-1460
  • (605) 665-3636
  • 803 E. 4th St.
  • Yankton, SD
  • 57078